Marble Loaf Cake

So, Sundays are normally a day in the W household where I like to do some baking (as probably most bakers do). It’s strange when I have a Sunday where I’m not baking, I feel lost. This Sunday was no different. I decided to bake something for Mr W to take into work. Normally I bake something that I’ll take into work or share between the two works. However, tomorrow I have a team day (with no chance to eat my baking) and Mr W has a new person starting on his team which gives me more reason to bake for him.

Now, a particular favourite cake of Mr W’s (to be fair he likes most cakes) is a marble cake. The joy on his face when we were on our honeymoon last month and he saw it on the breakfast table (we were in Italy where cakes seem to be popular at breakfast time). So today I’ve baked him this cake.

The recipe I adapted was a Mary Berry recipe that I found from an old Good Food magazine. The recipe stated to serve ten using a 2lb loaf tin. This serving size was far too big for Mr W’s team size of 6 so I decided to use a 1lb loaf tin and halved the recipe. As most people usually do, I substituted the butter in the cake for margarine as this is what I had in my fridge (also, Mary Berry seems to prefer this over butter). I also didn’t want to use the recommended icing topping. The main reason for this being that once I would have halved the quantities, I think the method would have been hard to follow through. Instead I drizzled over some melted chocolate.

The end result is a light airy sponge (I’m eating my sample piece as I type). The randomness of the placing of the different coloured cake mixes has resulted in a interesting pattern of vanilla and chocolate. With one end of the cake having a greater ratio of chocolate to vanilla. The method itself was easy to follow (helped by the fact she uses her all-in-one method). I might see if Mr W can try and bake it.

If I was to make again, I would consider using the original amount of vanilla extract (1/2 tsp) as I feel the vanilla flavour is lacking. I may also try adding melted chocolate instead of the cocoa powder mixed with water to get a more intense chocolate hit. I would also add a drizzle of melted milk chocolate on top for more contrast. But all in all, a bake I’m happy with.


Sliced marble loaf cake

Sliced marble loaf cake

My adapted version of the recipe. Cuts into 8 generous slices.

2oz margarine, plus extra for greasing

2oz caster sugar

5oz self raising flour

1 level tsp baking powder

2 large eggs

1 tbsp milk

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp hot water

TOPPING

20g white chocolate

1. Heat oven to 160C/140C fan/gas 3. Lightly grease a 1lb loaf tin and line with a wide strip of baking parchment (to go up wide sides and across the base).

2. Put the margarine, sugar, flour, baking powder, eggs milk and vanilla extract into a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer until well blended. Spoon half the mixture into a separate bowl.

3. In a small cup, mix the cocoa powder and hot water together until smooth. Cool slightly before adding to one of the bowls of cake mixture, mixing until combined.

4. Spoon the vanilla and chocolate cake mixtures randomly into the prepared loaf tin until all used up and gently level the surface. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes until the cake is springy to the touch and when a skewer is inserted into the middle, comes out clean. Allow to cool for a few minutes in the tin before turning out on a wire rack, peeling off baking parchment, and leaving to cool completely.

5. Melt the white chocolate in the microwave (around 30 seconds will do but check after 20 seconds). Drizzle over the top and leave to set.

Leave a Reply

