Orange Cream Biscuits

A couple of months ago I made my first attempt at home made custard creams. Mr W’s initial impression on seeing these ‘well they don’t look like custard creams’. Of course they didn’t look like your standard custard cream that comes out of the packet. I wasn’t going to stand there etching the words onto each side and putting in little holes. But the taste was better than a custard cream. They were a hit at work but not such a hit with Mr W. On trying them, his feedback was ‘would be better if it was an orange cream’. Well, today’s the day I took on this challenge.

So, last week I did a little research on orange cream biscuit recipes. Some used orange zest in the cream filling, others also used orange zest in the biscuit itself. From my experience with orange cream biscuits (only tried them once as prefer your normal custard cream) I knew that they didn’t have zest in the filling. I asked Mr W if the biscuit was flavoured, which it isn’t. So, I decided to adapt the custard cream recipe that I used originally (from my Biscuit cookbook by Miranda Gore Browne). I added orange water and orange food colouring to the filling to try and replicate the flavour/look that Mr W was wanting.

Custard creams aren’t as difficult to make as I thought. The hardest part is trying to pair up the biscuits ready for sandwiching together. Mr W has just tried the tasting sample from the batch I made this afternoon. He thinks that I’ve done well in trying to replicate it. There is an orange flavour coming through however it is not as intense as the shop bought variety (though when he thought about it, he concluded that their flavour was more artificial). However, I have lost this round as he prefers the shop bought. He did point out that it was my first attempt and it was one of his favourite biscuits I was trying to copy. Below is my adaptation of the recipe.


Orange Cream Biscuits

Orange Cream Biscuits

Makes about 12

60g icing sugar

170g softened unsalted butter

175g self raising flour

60g custard powder

icing sugar for dusting

For the filling

50g softened unsalted butter

125g icing sugar, sifted

1 tbsp orange water

orange food colouring

  1. Preheat oven to 15oC and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Sift icing sugar into a bowl and mix with the butter until creamy. Sift in the flour and custard powder and mix until a dough forms. Place walnut-sized dollops of the dough on the baking trays, spacing at least 3cm apart. Roll into a ball and flatten with the palm of your hand. Bake for about 15 minutes until they look yellow and dry, not golden brown. Leave to cool on the tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  3. To make the orange cream, put the butter and icing sugar into a bowl and mix until creamy. Add the orange water and mix. Add more icing sugar if the filling is starting to look too wet (I found this happened). Add the orange food colouring, adding a little at a time and mixing in between each addition until you get the desired colour.
  4. Sandwich the biscuits together using a teaspoon of the orange filling. Leave a cm gap round the edge and press the biscuits together gently. Dust with icing sugar.
Leave a Reply

