Lets try again

Now, a few weeks, my sister and I went to a cookery class at a cookery school in Wilmslow. We went after work and spent a few hours making and eating Mexican Street Food. We were part of a small group and had the opportunity to make our own corn tacos, chipotle chicken, corn salsa, guacamole and black bean tostadas. We then helped in the making of green rice, radish pickle and churros with chocolate sauce. Finally, we got to eat our tasty little feast. We both thoroughly enjoyed it and are looking into to doing another class in the future. If anybody lives in the Manchester area and enjoys cooking new foods, I strongly urge you to take a look at their website (here). Below is a snapshot of my little feast.

MexicanStreetFoodNow, to the reason for why you are probably reading this blog. What have I baked this week? Well, this bake actually started last week when I promised my colleague some of her favourite home-made cake. The one she calls ‘the cake with the yoghurt’. What it is actually called is Caramel Apple Loaf Cake. So, last Monday, I told her that I would be baking it that night and that I would bring some up to her the next day. As with most of my bakes, it took a little longer to cool than I wanted it to. I got a little impatient and decided that it was cool enough to remove from the tin and decorate. Below is a picture of the consequence of my actions.

Splat

Cue Tuesday morning when a rather upset colleague turned up at my desk expecting cake. She was hoping I would have scraped some up off the floor for her (I was tempted, it did look rather tasty) Instead, I promised her that I would bake it for her at the weekend when I would have time to let it cool. I would put aside some extra large slices just for her.

So, come Sunday morning, I went to the local supermarket to get my missing ingredients and started on making the cake. It then had the whole afternoon to cool before I decorated it (just in time for Mr W and I to have a ‘sample piece’ of course).

Moist apple cake. Crunchy walnut pieces. Gooey caramel topping. Just what you want for Autumn.

 Caramel Apple Loaf Cake

Caramel Apple Loaf Cake (8-10 slices)

175g baking margarine

175g golden caster sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

225g plain flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

4 rounded tbsp fat free Greek Yogurt

2 eating apples

50g walnuts, roughly chopped

50g dairy toffees

2tbsp milk

  1. Heat oven to 160C/140C fan. Grease a 2lb loaf tin and line the base and ends with a long strip of baking paper.
  2. Beat together the sugar, butter and vanilla extract until pale and then beat in the eggs, one at a time. Add the flour, cinnamon and yogurt. Peel, core and chop the apples into small chunks and add to the bowl. Mix everything together with a wooden spoon.
  3. Scrape into the tin, smooth the top and scatter the walnuts down the middle, squashing down gently. Bake on a middle shelf for 1 hour 20-30 minutes, until a skewer come out clean. Cool in the tin (important step!).
  4. To decorate, put the toffees in a small bowl with the milk. Gently heat, stirring until the toffees have melted into a smooth caramel sauce. Cool for about a minute whilst you turn out the cake. Slowly drizzle the sauce over the top of the cake. Leave for 10 minutes before serving.

Recipe taken from Good Food

Leave a Reply

