Happy New Year

Just a quick post to wish you all a happy new year!!

Apologies for the lack of posts over the last couple of months. I have seemed to have less need to go on the laptop recently and therefore not getting round to writing a post. I will admit, I have still been doing some baking with a few bakes making an appearance for the Christmas season (I’ll include some pictures below).

This Christmas has definitely been a ‘gingerbread flavoured’ Christmas (ignited by my introduction to Gingerbread Lattes…mmm). This inspired my Gingerbread and Vanilla Whoopie Pies and my Gingerbread and Cranberry Muffins. I also attempted a Vanilla Biscuit Christmas Tree for our Secret Santa present swap this year. As impressive as it looked, I used a kit from Lakeland which had all the required biscuit cutters. I just needed to make the dough, bake the biscuits and assemble. The biscuits were rather tasty although next time I need to be mindful they don’t burn.20151214_11104320151221_093910

20151218_215648

 

The final (no) bake of the year, before everybody goes on the healthy eating kicks for the new year was Peanut Butter Salted Caramel Pretzel and Milk Chocolate Slices. This was one of those (no) bakes that was so easy to do, tasted so good and was so naughty. I halved the recipe and still ended  up with 16 decent sized slices. Think salty sweet creamy butter with crunchy pretzels and a thick, sweet chocolate top. I still have some pieces in the fridge at work for those that weren’t in over Christmas. Here’s hoping there aren’t too many people on diets.

So, this year. This year my posts might not be entirely focussed around baking. I might have some posts on some savoury recipes I’ve made. With people (including myself) wanting to try and have a healthy 2016, I don’t want to be baking treats each week that might be the reason for people falling off the bandwagon. Well, at least for the first couple of months 🙂

Leave a Reply

